LINE-UP
mldvabrdcst.jpg

MLDVA & Çinar Timur (Pl/Tr)

Turkish psychedelica
Friday 5 April 21:00 - 22:00 BONNEFOOI

Turkish psych meets breaks and synth electronica with a touch of funk

Saz Power from Poland! MLDVA describes itself as ‘Turkish psych meets breaks and synth electronica with a touch of funk’. They also delivered one of the best tracks on this collector and call themselves a modest tribute to the greats of popular Turkish music – whereby they are referring to Zafer Dilek, Neşe Karaböcek, Fikret Kızılok and Arif Sağ.

 

Turkish psychedelica? Pink Floyd on saz!

The latest delight of the indie scene for a while now: Turkish psychedelica. Labels like Finders Keepers and Pharaway Sounds have ensured a revitalization of the heritage through a constant stream of Turkish reissues. Folk heroine Selda Bağcan is being massively rediscovered and contemporary acts like Gaye Su Akyol, Derya Yildirim, BaBa ZuLa and Altin Gün fully embrace the style. They all refer back to the heyday of Turkish psychedelica in the ‘60s-‘70s, when Anatolian rock and folk fused with Western rock-’n-roll. Artists like Erkin Koray, Bariș Manço, Selda and Cem Karaca, were the (politically engaged) Turkish heroes of that time.

Saz Power!

Due to the release of excellent collector ‘Saz Power’ and the success of the Turkish Psychedelica Night during the previous edition of BRDCST, this time we will take over music café Bonnefooi for no less than three successive evenings. Here, in collaboration with compiler Demir Keren Atay (aka Elektro Hafiz), we present you with the latest generation of Turkish psychedelica acts. Noteworthy: that ‘Saz Power’ collector beautifully reflects the Turkish diaspora and brings together musicians from all over Europe.

LINE-UP
mldvabrdcst.jpg

MLDVA & Çinar Timur (Pl/Tr)

Le psychédélisme turc
vendredi 5 avril 21:00 - 22:00 BONNEFOOI

Turkish psych meets breaks and synth electronica with a touch of funk

Du saz power polonais ! Les membres de MLDVA décrivent leur musique comme « du psychédélisme turc infusé de breaks et d’électro aux synthés avec un soupçon de funk ». On leur doit l’un des meilleurs titres de la compile « Saz Power ». Le groupe se veut un hommage modeste aux grands de la musique populaire turque, parmi lesquels Zafer Dilek, Neşe Karaböcek, Fikret Kızılok ou encore Arif Sağ.

 

Le psychédélisme turc ? Du Pink Floyd au saz !

C’est la dernière friandise en date de la scène indie : le psychédélisme turc. Des labels comme Finders Keepers et Pharaway Sounds ressuscitent le patrimoine turc par un flux ininterrompu de rééditions, l’héroïne populaire Selda Bağcan est redécouverte à grande échelle et des formations contemporaines comme Gaye Su Akyol, Derya Yildirim, BaBa ZuLa et Altin Gün embrassent le style avec passion. Tous font référence aux jours glorieux du psychédélisme turc, les années 60-70, période de fusion entre le rock/folk anatolien et le rock’n’roll occidental. Des artistes comme Erkin Koray, Bariș Manço, Selda et Cem Karaca étaient les héros de l’époque, casquette qu’ils combinaient souvent avec celle d’activiste politique.

Saz Power !

Inspirés par la sortie de l’excellente compilation « Saz Power », et motivés par le succès de la précédente Turkish Psychedelica Night à BRDCST, nous prenons d’assaut le café musical Bonnefooi pendant trois soirées consécutives. En collaboration avec le compilateur Demir Keren Atay (alias Elektro Hafiz), nous y présenterons la jeune génération d’artistes psychédéliques turcs. Notons que la compile « Saz Power » réunit des musiciens qui se sont installés partout en Europe, reflétant ainsi à merveille la diaspora turque.