LINE-UP
elektrohafizbrdcst.jpg

Elektro Hafiz (De/Tr)

Turkish psychedelica
Saturday 6 April 21:00 - 22:00 BONNEFOOI

Turkish psych meets electronica en dub

Saz Power from Germany! Demir Keren Atay left a 20 year career behind him in his homeland Turkey (where he was amongst the best of the second generation of Turkish psych, under the name Fairuz Derin Bulut). Under the name Elektro Hafiz, he now fully flirts with electro and even dub.

 

Turkish psychedelica? Pink Floyd on saz!

The latest delight of the indie scene for a while now: Turkish psychedelica. Labels like Finders Keepers and Pharaway Sounds have ensured a revitalization of the heritage through a constant stream of Turkish reissues. Folk heroine Selda Bağcan is being massively rediscovered and contemporary acts like Gaye Su Akyol, Derya Yildirim, BaBa ZuLa and Altin Gün fully embrace the style. They all refer back to the heyday of Turkish psychedelica in the ‘60s-‘70s, when Anatolian rock and folk fused with Western rock-’n-roll. Artists like Erkin Koray, Bariș Manço, Selda and Cem Karaca, were the (politically engaged) Turkish heroes of that time.

Saz Power!

Due to the release of excellent collector ‘Saz Power’ and the success of the Turkish Psychedelica Night during the previous edition of BRDCST, this time we will take over music café Bonnefooi for no less than three successive evenings. Here, in collaboration with compiler Demir Keren Atay (aka Elektro Hafiz), we present you with the latest generation of Turkish psychedelica acts. Noteworthy: that ‘Saz Power’ collector beautifully reflects the Turkish diaspora and brings together musicians from all over Europe.

LINE-UP
elektrohafizbrdcst.jpg

Elektro Hafiz (De/Tr)

Le psychédélisme turc
samedi 6 avril 21:00 - 22:00 BONNEFOOI

Turkish psych meets electronica and dub

Du saz power allemand ! Fort d’une carrière de 20 ans dans son pays natal, le Turc Demir Keren Atay alias Fairuz Derin Bulut figurait parmi les pointures de la seconde génération du psychédélisme turc. Sous le pseudo Elektro Hafiz, il flirte effrontément avec l’électro et le dub.

 

Le psychédélisme turc ? Du Pink Floyd au saz !

C’est la dernière friandise en date de la scène indie : le psychédélisme turc. Des labels comme Finders Keepers et Pharaway Sounds ressuscitent le patrimoine turc par un flux ininterrompu de rééditions, l’héroïne populaire Selda Bağcan est redécouverte à grande échelle et des formations contemporaines comme Gaye Su Akyol, Derya Yildirim, BaBa ZuLa et Altin Gün embrassent le style avec passion. Tous font référence aux jours glorieux du psychédélisme turc, les années 60-70, période de fusion entre le rock/folk anatolien et le rock’n’roll occidental. Des artistes comme Erkin Koray, Bariș Manço, Selda et Cem Karaca étaient les héros de l’époque, casquette qu’ils combinaient souvent avec celle d’activiste politique.

Saz Power !

Inspirés par la sortie de l’excellente compilation « Saz Power », et motivés par le succès de la précédente Turkish Psychedelica Night à BRDCST, nous prenons d’assaut le café musical Bonnefooi pendant trois soirées consécutives. En collaboration avec le compilateur Demir Keren Atay (alias Elektro Hafiz), nous y présenterons la jeune génération d’artistes psychédéliques turcs. Notons que la compile « Saz Power » réunit des musiciens qui se sont installés partout en Europe, reflétant ainsi à merveille la diaspora turque.