LINE-UP
blanckmassbrdcst.jpg

Blanck Mass (uk)

Saturday 6 April 22:30 - 00:00 AB CLUB

½ Fuck Buttons loved by Mogwai, Sigur Rós & Slowdive

Blanck Mass is still ½ Fuck Buttons, or the alter-ego of Benjamin John Power. His albums balance perfectly between noise, drone, ambient and experimental electro. Though on his latest 7” he allowed himself to be abundantly inspired by hardcore: ‘I grew up playing in punk and hardcore bands so this is no new venture for me, but perhaps as far as Blanck Mass released material goes, my latest 7” might be the snottiest.

Blanck Mass delivered a brilliant album in 2017, in the form of ‘World Eater’. Pitchfork shot them into the category ‘Best New Music’ and wrote: ‘World Eater is suitable for casual noise fans who have some curiosity for extreme music and a decent threshold for pain.’

He has fans in the upper echelons of the musical and sport world. Mogwai released his debut, Jon Hopkins and Sigur Rós took him along on tour, and in 2012 his song ‘Sundowner’ was used during the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games.

Basically: thumping, rattling and shaking of the highest class.

The Art of Noise
In 1913, the Italian Luigi Russolo wrote a Futurist manifesto entitled The Art of Noises - L’Arte dei Rumori – in which he declared that music must adjust to the new industrial age and must be a reflection of the noisy city with its ‘hissing, beeping, humming, thumping, rattling and shaking’. If Russolo hadn’t left us in 1947, he would shamelessly sate himself on the (claustrophobic) noise(-rock) and cutting-edge experimental electro that BRDCST presents in the year 2019 – with acts like Blanck Mass, Bliss Signal, Black Midi or Ipek Gorgun.

 

VIDEO

LINE-UP
blanckmassbrdcst.jpg

Blanck Mass (uk)

samedi 6 avril 22:30 - 00:00 AB CLUB

La moitié de Fuck Buttons adoubée par Mogwai, Sigur Rós & Slowdive

Blanck Mass, soit la moitié de Fuck Buttons, est l’alter ego de Benjamin John Power. Si ses albums oscillent entre noise, drone, ambient et électro expérimentale, il puise plus largement dans le hardcore pour son dernier 7’’ : « J’ai beaucoup joué dans des groupes punk et hardcore dans ma jeunesse, je ne suis donc pas en terrain inconnu. Mais il est possible, au regard des autres opus de Blanck Mass, que mon dernier 7’’ soit le plus insolent. »

Avec son album « World Eater », sorti en 2017, Blanck Mass nous offre une petite merveille, catapultée par Pitchfork dans la catégorie Best New Music, avec pour commentaire : « ‘World Eater’ convient parfaitement aux amateurs de noise désinvolte, dotés d’une certaine curiosité pour la musique extrême et d’un seuil de douleur respectable. »

Blanck Mass compte des fans dans les hautes sphères musicales, mais aussi sportives : outre un premier album produit par Mogwai et une tournée avec Jon Hopkins et Sigur Rós, son titre « Sundowner » a été utilisé lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux olympiques de 2012.

Bref : des « sifflements, piaillements, gémissements, bourdonnements, frissonnements et tremblements » de haute volée.

The Art of Noise
En 1913, l’Italien Luigi Russolo rédigea son manifeste futuriste intitulé L’Arte dei Rumori (« L’Art des bruits », The Art Of Noise en anglais). Il y avança que la musique devait s’adapter à la nouvelle ère industrielle et refléter le bruit de la ville avec ses sifflements, piaillements, gémissements, bourdonnements, frissonnements et tremblements. Si Russolo ne nous avait pas quittés en 1947, il se serait aujourd’hui délecté sans vergogne de la musique noise (-rock) (claustrophobe) et de l’électro expérimentale incisive proposées à BRDCST par des artistes et formations comme Blanck Mass, Bliss Signal, Cocaine Piss, Black Midi et Ipek Gorgun.

 

VIDÉO