LINE-UP
bendikgiskebrdcst.jpg

Bendik Giske (no/de)

Saturday 6 April 21:00 - 22:00 LA MACHINE

Norwegian saxophonist gives a nod to both Lindstrøm and Colin Stetson

Queer Norwegian saxophonist and performer Bendik Giske (who lives in Berlin) considers his biggest influences to be producer Lindstrøm (a fellow countryman) and the circular breathing of free-jazz saxophonist Evan Parker. We mainly hear Colin Stetson as great inspiration, but he worked with both cutting-edge producer Lotic and also electro/noise/ambient artist Deathprod on his impressive debut EP ‘Adjust’. Uncut described his upcoming album debut ‘Surrender’ as ‘Queer freeform jazz inspired by a night in Berlin techno mecca Berghain’.

The New Wave of Jazz! @ La Machine

BRDCST has embraced The New Wave of Jazz! right from the very first edition. So we didn’t only invite Shabaka and the Ancestors, GoGo Penguin or Yussef Kamaal, but also Thundercat, De Beren Gieren, MDCIII and Vels Trio. All are acts that consider jazz to be a mentality rather than a genre. The New Wave Of Jazz! (with exclamation mark) is a title derived from the legendary tagline that was always found on the classy gatefold covers of Impulse! (the groundbreaking label that made furor in the ’60s with John Coltrane.)

Base of operations for The New Wave of Jazz! is nearby music cafe La Machine (Sint-Goriksplein 2), next to the famous Halls of Saint Géry. Not only will Queer Norwegian saxophonist Bendik Giske play there, but also Shabaka Hutchings-favorite Alabaster dePlume.

 

VIDEO

LINE-UP
bendikgiskebrdcst.jpg

Bendik Giske (no/de)

samedi 6 avril 21:00 - 22:00 LA MACHINE

Le saxophoniste norvégien s’inspire de Lindstrøm et Colin Stetson

Bendik Giske est un performeur et saxophoniste norvégien, établi à Berlin, qui s’inspire tant du producteur Lindstrøm (son compatriote) que du saxophoniste free jazz Evan Parker avec sa technique de la respiration circulaire. Quant à nous, nous entendons surtout l’influence de Colin Stetson. Sur son impressionnant premier EP « Adjust », Giske s’associe au producteur pionnier Lotic et à l’artiste électro/noise/ambient Deathprod. Uncut a décrit son prochain album « Surrender » comme du « free jazz ‘queer’, inspiré par une nuit au Berghain, la mecque de la techno berlinoise ».

The New Wave of Jazz! @ La Machine

Dès sa toute première édition, BRDCST a immédiatement embrassé The New Wave of Jazz! Non contents d’inviter Shabaka and the Ancestors, GoGo Penguin et Yussef Kamaal, nous y avons ajouté Thundercat, De Beren Gieren, MDCIII et Vels Trio. Autant d’artistes pour qui le jazz est plus une mentalité qu’un genre. Nous empruntons le titre The New Wave Of Jazz! – avec un ! – au slogan légendaire dont étaient frappées les élégantes pochettes gatefold du révolutionnaire label Impulse! qui, dans les années 60, faisait fureur avec John Coltrane.

Le point de chute pour The New Wave of Jazz! sera le café musical La Machine, situé près des célèbres halles Saint-Géry (place Saint-Géry 2). Nous y accueillerons le saxophoniste transgenre norvégien Bendik Giske, ainsi qu’un grand favori de Shabaka Hutchings, Alabaster dePlume.

 

VIDÉO